Information about the Conficker Worm from Microsoft Security

The Conficker worm is a computer worm that can infect your computer and spread itself to other computers across a network automatically, without human interaction.

How does the Conficker worm work?

Here’s an illustration of how the Conficker worm works.

click for a larger view

Am I at risk of having the Conficker worm? Am I at risk of having the Conficker worm?
What does the Conficker worm do? What does the Conficker worm do?
How does the Conficker worm work? How does the Conficker worm work?
How do I remove the Conficker worm? How do I remove the Conficker worm?
Where can I find more technical information about the Conficker worm and how can I stay up to date on the Conficker worm? Where can I find more technical information about the Conficker worm and how can I stay up to date on the Conficker worm?

via Microsoft Security

2 Responses to Information about the Conficker Worm from Microsoft Security

  1. Loyce Borders says:

    I have Live One Care in my computer. Will that protect mefrom the Conficker Worm?

  2. Ray says:

    I THINK so. Here is what MS says:
    “If your computer is infected with the Conficker worm, you may be unable to download certain security products, such as the Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool or accessing certain Web sites, such as Microsoft Update. If you can’t access those tools, try using the Windows Live OneCare Safety Scanner.”

    I’m just trying to figure all of this out myself. There is a link on the Microsoft website of programs/antivirus software that you can look at. Many of them allow free trail periods and free computer scans. I’d try some of those.
    I used Norton and it isolated a few “threats” and deleted them. I have no idea if that was it or not. I also use a free “spybot” that alerts me when something is trying to “seed” itself in my system.

    Good luck!!
    Thanks for checking out the blog!

    Bye for now,
    Ray

Leave a Reply

